The TCAV is one of the world’s longest standing professional coach organisations…and very proud of it.
A fantastic representation of our membership both past and present and many distinguished guests attended this wonderful event in December at the Kooyong LTC, the birthplace of our Association back in 1956. It is not easy to condense 60 years of extraordinary history into one evening.
Our inaugural President Frank Sedgman recounted wonderful stories after being presented with the prestigious Ian Occleshaw award. The indefatigable and charismatic Ian Barclay eloquently introduced by Ann Quinn was installed as our fourth ever legend and Terry Stone of Grace Park was inducted into the Hall of Fame.
Julie Fidler, who did a magnificent job hosting the evening, became our seventh Life Member and Dane Nebel spoke entertainingly on being presented the coveted George Gilmore Memorial trophy for Club Coach of the Year (Liston Tennis Club).
Congratulations to our young emerging coaches Lewis Miles and Jordan Wright who won the Rising Star and Rookie awards respectively. Our new wave of young coaches face new challenges and opportunities and TCAV will always be there to support them in their endeavours.
Impersonator Elliot Lonie took on the persona of Andy Murray, Rafa, Novak, Nick Kyrgios and others in an hilarious performance.
Finally coaches who have been supportive and financial members for 15, 30, and 40 years received a certificate of recognition by the Association.
It was amazing to see so many dedicated coaches who have made a remarkable contribution to growing the game of tennis and introducing and engaging so many players of all ages and abilities to the game.
Thank you to all those who made the night possible and to Tennis Victoria and Tennis Australia for both their support on the night and ongoing support and cooperation to further the cause of tennis coaches at the coal face.