The annual TCAV Awards night on Sunday night at Royal South Yarra provided many highlights, great stories, words of wisdom, and plenty of laughs.
Kooyong and Royal South Yarra legend Cedric Mason became the third ever winner of the prestigious Ian Occleshaw Award following his Spirit of Tennis Award at the Tennis Victoria Annual Awards.
Former Ian Occleshaw Award recipient and inaugural TCAV President Frank Sedgman paid tribute to Cedric in a very entertaining speech.
Cedric responded in turn by paying tribute to the late great Ian Occleshaw and sharing many wonderful anecdotes and wise words. As always the perfect gentleman.
The TCAV also congratulates Glenn Busby on his induction into the TCAV Hall of Fame. It is truly remarkable what Glenn has achieved in tennis and the many young lives he has positively impacted through coaching.
Hall of Fame colleagues Rupert Ferdinands, Lois Plowman, Colin Davis, and Terry Stone were there to support and witness Glenn receive this prestigious honour.
TCAV Life Member Rob Peterson announced that he will be standing down from the Board at this year’s AGM after nearly 20 years. Rob made a marvellous, insightful, rousing, and heart felt speech. His contribution will never be forgotten.
Congratulations to all award winners:
Paul Vassallo : George Gilmour Memorial Trophy for Most Outstanding Club Coach
Luke Devlin : TCAV Rising Star
Daniel Massa : TCAV Rookie of the Year