401, 2017

More images from 60th celebration.

By |January 4th, 2017|General News, History, Awards|0 Comments

401, 2017

TCAV 60th birthday. Great history…great achievement!

By |January 4th, 2017|General News, History, Awards|0 Comments

The TCAV is one of the world’s longest standing professional coach organisations…and very proud of it.
A fantastic representation of our membership both past and present and many distinguished guests attended this wonderful event in December at the Kooyong LTC, the birthplace of our Association back in 1956. It is not easy to condense 60 years of extraordinary history into one evening.
Our inaugural President Frank Sedgman recounted wonderful stories after being presented with the prestigious Ian Occleshaw award. The indefatigable and charismatic Ian Barclay eloquently introduced by Ann Quinn was installed as our fourth ever legend and Terry Stone of Grace […]

2810, 2016

A message from the President

By |October 28th, 2016|General News, Awards, TCAV Board|0 Comments

Hello my fellow TCAV members.
I am honored to have been re-elected President at our recent 2016 TCAV AGM.
I have attached above my Presidents report for 2015/16 and hope to add more value in the ensuing year.
I thank those in attendance at the AGM for awarding me Life Membership.
I am very humbled to follow in the footsteps of many of my mentors, and it is greatly appreciated.
Board members Tim Connelly, Robert Peterson and Richard Bruce-Smith were all re-elected for a further 2 year term.
Craig Miller opted to stand down from the Board this year after completing his 2 year term […]

2904, 2016

TCAV 60th Birthday Celebrations

By |April 29th, 2016|Awards, Events|0 Comments

Tennis Coaches Australia – Victoria is proud to celebrate our 60th Year in 2016.

As part of our birthday celebrations, we will be holding a special evening at the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club on Saturday 3rd December 2016.

Our TCAV members and guests are warmly invited to join us to celebrate this milestone.

For further information and official invitation, please follow link below
TCAV 60th Birthday Invitation


1610, 2015

Our President announced finalist at Newcombe Medal Australian Tennis Awards

By |October 16th, 2015|Awards, TCAV Board|0 Comments

Congratulations to Julie Fidler for her successful nomination having just been announced a finalist at this year’s Newcombe Medal to be held at Crown Casino. Julie has been shortlisted in arguably the most important category of Volunteer Achievement. To read and witness Julie’s history as a volunteer is breathtaking and she would be a most deserving winner.

On behalf of all TCAV members and the coaching industry we wish Julie ultimate success on the night.

904, 2015

Ian Occleshaw sadly passes

By |April 9th, 2015|Uncategorized, General News, History, Awards, Where Are They Now, Tributes, TCAV Board, Members|0 Comments

It is with great sadness that we must announce that TCAV Legend Mr. Ian Occleshaw passed peacefully 0n March 29th.

The funeral was held in the Boyd Chapel on April 1 at the Springvale crematorium. It was a beautiful service attended by family, friends, and broad representation from across the tennis community. Our hearts, thoughts, and best wishes go out to Marie and family.

Ian affectionately known to all as “OCC” or “Mr Occ” was the most influential tennis figure in Victoria for over 50 years. His profile can be viewed on this site however Ian’s achievements are well known. He, together […]

312, 2014

Outstanding TCAV coaches recognised.

By |December 3rd, 2014|General News, Awards|0 Comments

Melbourne’s leading and upcoming coaches were honoured and recognised at the annual awards night at Kooyong LTC.

Victor Eke delivered a truly inspiring and passionate speech at these prestigious awards and was visibly overwhelmed to be inducted into the TCAV Hall of Fame with other great coaches he looks up to. He made special mention of TCAV Legend Norman Cahill who gave him his first coaching position in Melbourne.

Young coaches Tim Shackleton and Christopher Singh won the Rookie and Rising Star awards respectively and Vicki Lee (Doncaster TC) and Adrian “AJ” Muscillo (Eildon Park TC) shared the George Gilmour Memorial Trophy for […]

312, 2014

Fred Murphy honoured.

By |December 3rd, 2014|Uncategorized, General News, History, Awards, Where Are They Now, Tributes, TCAV Board|0 Comments

Former TCAV Board Member and Kooyong Committee member Fred Murphy was honoured by Tennis Victoria with a Service Award at the TCAV Awards night recently. Fred unfortunately passed away a couple of years ago so the TCAV and TV were delighted to have Fred’s daughter Alison accept the award from Tennis Victoria Executive Manger of Community Tennis Belinda Kleverlaan. Alison expressed how tennis was such a huge part of Fred’s life and this was no surprise to 100 or so guests who shared in or benefitted from many of Fred’s experiences and enormous contribution to tennis.

Mos of the original TCAV […]

1509, 2014

TCAV Awards Nomination 2014

By |September 15th, 2014|Awards, Members|Comments Off on TCAV Awards Nomination 2014

TCAV will soon be holding our annual Awards night ceremony to be held at Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club on Sunday 23rd November 2014.

Nominations for the 2014 awards will open on 1st October 2014 and close on 24th October 2014. Eligibility and criteria for the different awards are available in our latest TCAV awards Criteria Document. For correspondence and award nominations, make submissions to Peter Owen (Chair of TCAV Awards Committee), peterowen@tcav.com.au

View and download TCAV awards criteria document


The TCAV Board of management will invite nominations for the following awards.
TCAV Hall of Fame
TCAV Club Coach of the Year (George Gilmour Memorial Trophy)
TCAV Rising Star
TCAV Rookie […]

1408, 2014

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2013 TCAV Awards

By |August 14th, 2014|Awards, Members|Comments Off on Congratulations to the Winners of the 2013 TCAV Awards

Ian Barclay was inducted into the TCAV Hall of Fame at Kooyong for his amazing contribution to the profession of tennis coaching and to tennis in general.

Held at the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club on Sunday 24th November 2013, the award night provides recognition for contribution to tennis coaching and the game of tennis in Victoria.


HALL OF FAME Ian Barclay

Club Coach of the Year / Warrandyte Tennis Club

Bairnsdale Tennis Club

RISING STAR Aidan Fitzgerald